Keller's Bakery History
The Keller’s were bakers in the Alsace region of France before they arrived in America in the 1760’s.
Victor Keller opened the original Keller’s Bakery in 1885 in Abbeville, LA. Since then, some of the various locations have included Opelousas, New Orleans, Crowley and Eunice.
Victor’s grandson, Fenwick Keller, and his wife Eleanor moved from New Orleans to Lafayette and opened Keller's Bakery Downtown in 1929.
Fenwick and Eleanor's son, Kenneth Keller, started managing the bakery in 1973 and became the sole owner in 2004.
Today, under ownership of Kenneth, the building looks much like it did in 1948 and continues to serve its loyal customers traditional and unique sweet treats that are sure to be loved for many more decades to come.